Further Musings

Beauty smote his heart, he looked up from the forsaken land & hope returned to him

On the Bus

leave a comment »

Today I was on the bus coming back from Duke talking to one of my classmates named Dalia who was on her way to the dentist. As we got to talking it came out that she has met George Bush twice in her four months in the states. As I probed her it turned out that she had presented a two hour talk at the G8 summit. In her words “I was the only person who wasn’t a president in the room.”

She also mentioned that Laura Bush is a lovely person.

I wonder what it would have been like to come to Chapel Hill or Duke as an undergrad and mingle with the larger world. I wonder if my view of the world or confidence would have developed quicker. Whatever it means it also means that you my friends are only two degrees of separation from eight prime-ministers!

Written by furthermusings

October 26, 2004 at 10:41 pm

Posted in UNC

Leave a Reply

