Further Musings

Beauty smote his heart, he looked up from the forsaken land & hope returned to him

Tonight

with one comment

Tonight I’m sitting in my new bedroom here at Thomas Lane, smelling of bonfire smoke and listening to the crickets out my open window. I went out to a friend’s farm tonight for our monthly discussion group little knowing that UNC would beat Miami tonight in what may be the biggest upset of the college football season.

I think I would still choose the evening at the farm though. After the discussion finished we sat around the bonfire and a guitar came out. I enjoyed noticing the little details of the evening: the orange, rising moon, the shadows of the torches and the embered glow cast upon different faces. It was also good hear some live music for a bit, to be able to slow down enough to listen.

It’s also good to sit here and try to think of what to write about the evening. I don’t think I let my mind course over conversations or experiences enough, looking for themes and moments; remembering snapshots and emotions.

Written by furthermusings

October 31, 2004 at 1:18 am

Posted in At the House

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a lovely evening. – And Go Heels!

    Elizabeth

    October 31, 2004 at 1:45 am


Leave a Reply

